Better Gums & Stabilizers, Better Life!

Vegan Capsules

  • Background
vegetarian capsules(1)

Capsules are an important component of day to day health management. But recently an issue came up whether the capsule you are using is of vegetarian or non-vegetarian origin. Capsule shell can be divided into vegetarian and non-vegetarian origin on the basis of their origin. Gelatin capsule shells are typical of animal origin and HPMC or starch-based shells are of vegetarian origin.

Hard-shelled capsules, which are normally used for dry, powdered ingredients or miniature pellets, Both of these classes of capsules are made from aqueous solutions of gelling agents like Animal protein mainly gelatine And Non-gelatin such as Plant polysaccharides or their derivatives like carrageenans and modified forms of starch and cellulose.

  • Limits of Gelatin

Despite the great advantages, of gelatin capsules’, gelatin has several drawbacks that limit its use for capsules:

  • The animal source of gelatin can be a problem for certain consumers such as vegetarians or vegans and religious or ethnic groups (Jews, Muslims, Hindus, etc.) who observe dietary laws that forbid the use of certain animal products.
  • Since unmodified gelatin is prone to cross-linking when in contact with aldehydes, solubility problems might be expected with certain fill formulations.
  • Transparent low-color capsules are difficult to produce owing to the effect of the intrinsic Maillard reaction on gelatin color.
  • The temperature and moisture sensitivity of gelatin-based soft capsules is an issue that complicates the use of soft gelatin capsules in very hot and humid regions and requires special packaging and storage conditions to ensure product stability.
  • Ingredients for Vegan Capsules (Non-Gelatin Capsules)

To address these concerns, there has been a great interest in the capsule industry in looking for gelatin substitutes. Indeed, several concepts based on synthetic polymers and/or plant-derived hydrocolloids have been described in the patent literature.

The non-gelatin capsule shells are made up of such as Starch, HPMC, Pullulan, Polyvinyl alcohol (PVA), Alginates and Carrageenan.

  • Advantages of Gelatin & Non-Gelatin Capsules
Non-Gelatin Capsules:

Lower moisture content, low hygroscopicity, physical stability, stability in different ranges of temperature and humidity are advantages that favor the use of non gelatin capsules.

Advantages of Gelatin Capsules:

But, to keep in mind is that gelatin is an age-old technology with a proven safety record. Manufacturing easiness, easily available raw material and low cost are advantages of gelatin capsules.

Find Your Application ?!

As one professional and experienced supplier and manufacturer in China,

Our technical sales representatives are able to assist product development and provide texture solutions

in common fields such as baking, dairy, meat and poultry, dressings, sauces, and confectionery.

MENU

Newsletter

Get The

News, Resources

More about what you'll get from our newsletter!

  • Technical papers, articles and videos on food texture and stability;
  • The newest food trends, consumer demands and texture innovation;
  • The right food gums & stabilizers system that solves your challenge;
  • A team that can handle the complexity and help you formulate products;
  • Supplier selection criteria and methods and other purchasing skills.

Subscribe To Find The Secret To Connecting A Better And Healthier Life!