If you are looking for trusted hydrocolloid gums and stabilizers suppliers in China, Gino could be a better choice. We provide better ingredients options and the best solution to boost your business. Read More
How to Make Vegan Gummy Bears with Agar E406 - Recipe & Steps
How to Make Vegan Gummy Bears
Consumers are increasingly concerned about the source of ingredients in products, and greener and more environmentally friendly ingredients are becoming more attractive to consumers, both inside and out.
In recent years, the concept of plant-based has penetrated into several fields, and in this environment, plant-based gummies, especially vegan gummy bears, have received attention from all sides.
2. Gummy Bears
When it comes to Germany's most famous candy, you can't go wrong with gummy bears. In 2020, Haribo, the family-owned company that invented and specialized in gummy bears, is celebrating its 100th anniversary.
The company's advertising slogan "'Haribo macht Kinder froh' (Haribo makes children happy)" is a household word in Germany, and today not only children love the gummy bears' cute shape, but also adults are fascinated by their fresh, fruity flavor and chewy texture.
Haribo has more than ten factories in Europe and its products are sold in more than 100 countries. In Germany alone, Haribo produces more than 300 varieties of candy, accounting for nearly 60% of the fruit gummy market. Still, no other product can shake the position of gummy bears.
In addition, there is a vegetarian version of gummy bears, which uses pectin instead of gelatin made from animal bones to keep the elasticity of gummy bears.
3. How to make Vegan Gummy Bears
Agar Agar Powder
Refined Locust Bean Gum
Distilled water A
Refined granulated sugar A
Distilled water B
Refined granulated sugar B
Glucose syrup 85 Brix
Distilled water C
Citric acid powder
Food-grade essential oil
Flavours & Colours
3.2 Production Instructions
It is not enough to have the recipe for how to make vegan gummy bears with agar, the following production process instructions are also very important.
4. Advantages of Agar in Vegan Gummy Bears
Why do we make vegan gummy bears?
We all know gummy bears are made with gelatin to begin with, so why do we make vegan gummy bears with agar?
We think the two main reasons are the ingredients source and the gummy properties.
4.1 Source- Animal vs Plant
Therefore, in order to cater to the trend of the plant-based market, it is inevitable to replace gelatin with agar, carrageenan, or pectin.
4.2 Gummy Properties - Low vs High Melting Point
5. Disadvantages of Agar in Vegan Gummy Bears
Although the use of agar (or carrageenan) to make vegan gummy bears has the above advantages, it is not perfect, this is also related to the characteristics of agar. What is it?
Generally, gelatin can dissolve completely when heated to 60 degrees Celsius (no more than 70 degrees) in water, but agar (or carrageenan) needs to be heated to more than 95 degrees Celsius to dissolve fully. Definitely, the energy consumption should be higher.
If agar is not fully dissolved, there will be lumps or precipitation, the gel properties of agar will not be 100% developed, and the gummy candy will be prone to problems.
If a candy factory has been using gelatin to produce gummy bears but now wants to use agar to make vegan gummy bears, the first thing to consider is whether the existing heating and boiling equipment can reach this temperature.
This is the primary problem that many of our customers have encountered so far.
Finally, special thanks to Indiagar for the gummy-making recipe, if you want to know more about gummy ingredients, recipes, and how to make them, please feel free to contact.
Any Questions? Need Help?
No layout found!
With the mission of providing plant-based gums & stabilizers for a healthier life, Gino Gums & Stabilizers was founded in 2018.
We focus our main attention on various kinds of Plant-Based Hydrocolloids and Stabilizing solutions systems.